HASTINGS – Two coaches, fourteen players and one contributor have been named to the 2019 Eight-Man Football Hall of Fame. They will be inducted during ceremonies to be held Saturday, June 15 at the Tom Osborne Family Sports Complex in Hastings, Nebraska.

The Hall of Fame is presented by the Nebraska Eight-Man Football Coaches Association and sponsored by Pinnacle Bank of Nebraska. Induction ceremonies will be held at halftime of the 42nd annual Sertoma Eight-Man All-Star Game played at Hastings College. Kickoff for the game will be 6 p.m. on Saturday, June 15.

Over the next several days the York News-Times will feature each of the inductees with a short write-up on each leading up to the June 15 induction.

The first installment in the Wednesday, June 6 edition of the York News-Times included contributor Bob Jensen and player Clint Eikemeier of Dodge, Neb. Here are the next two:

Billy Legate, Clearwater High School (player)

From 1990 to 1993, Billy was a dominating player for legendary coach Rod Brummels. He led the Cardinals to the playoffs three times in his career, including a Class D-2 state runner-up finish in 1993. He was a two-time first team all-conference and first team all-state selection as both a running back and linebacker. Billy finished his prep career with school records in career rushing yards (3,683), single-season yards (1,807) and tackles (232). He also caught a record 79-yard touchdown reception in the 1993 state playoffs and was named the Most Valuable Defensive Player of the 1994 Eight-Man All-Star Game. From 1995 to 1998, Billy attended the University of Nebraska and played a part on three national championship Cornhusker teams. As a fullback and special teams’ ace, he appeared in 44 games for the Huskers. Billy set the strength index record for his position, was a three-time first team academic All-Big 12 and was also the 1998 recipient of the Admiral U.S. Grant Sharp Trophy in recognition of his unselfish dedication to the team with little or no self-acclaim/recognition. The NEMFCA is honored to welcome him into the Eight-Man Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

Casey Beran, Sargent High School (player)

In the early to mid-1990s, Casey stood out as both a running back and defensive end while leading the Bulldogs to the 1994 state semifinals. His dominance on both sides of the ball saw him achieve multiple honors during his prep career, including first team All-Loup Valley Conference, first team all-state and Eight-Man Defensive Player of the Year. After his senior season in high school, he moved on to Chadron State College where he was a three-time Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference defensive end. Casey became the first player in Eagle history to earn first team honors as an All-American and Academic All-American in the same season (1998, 1999). In the year 2000, he was named the RMAC Defensive Player of the Year and the Omaha World-Herald’s Nebraska State College Athlete of the Year after compiling career marks of 182 tackles and 35 sacks (while also adding 11 touchdowns on offense as a goal-line fullback). Casey was inducted into the Chadron State College Hall of Fame, the RMAC Hall of Fame and was later named to the RMAC’s All-Century Team. He was also inducted into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame, and the NEMFCA is honored to now welcome him into the Eight-Man Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

Sign up for York News Times Email Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.